1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

An intro, an offer and some "newbie" questions - from a fan of Glastonbury 1982

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by rocketmancs, Jan 11, 2008.

1. rocketmancs

rocketmancs I've got a zappy little nappy

Hello Harper fans,

Just introducing myself, as I'm new to Stormcock.

An intro:
    I've been enjoying Roy's music since I (entirely by accident!) taped his Glastonbury 1982 performance late one night on ITV. What great serendipity I've always felt it was - to have discovered this performance and this artist in this way. Ha ha. Funny world. Makes me wonder what/who I've missed though ...

An offer:
    As part of my subsequent backfilling of Roy's catalogue I recently bought from Science Friction all six volumes of the re-issued BBC Archives CDs and now have a spare copy of Volume 1 (original release) to offer up free to the list. First come, first served. mail me offlist with your postal address and I'll get in touch with just the recipient and dispatch it to her/him. No trade, no blanks, just a freebie to clear some duplicated space.

Some "newbie questions":
    Getting back that 1982 Glasto perfomance brings me to some of my queries;
    I recall reading some disparaging remark from Roy concerning the quality of this broadcast (can't remember whether he disliked the performance or rather the quality of the audio mix/production), but I've always loved it! I still have the VHS of it and pray that the tape does not give up on me. In more recent times I have aquired the hardware and software resources to transfer this to a digital archival format of one shape or another but have simply never got around to it ... time, time ....
    Has this ever been done for the purposes of fan "viewing/sharing" does anyone know?